The National Weather Service says that the state of Ohio could not fully contain Hurricane Irma.

In fact, Irma’s eye, which measures at approximately 23 miles wide in diameter, is about the same width from east to west as Franklin County. Ohio’s capitol Columbus is in Franklin County.

The storm’s hurricane-force winds extend 50 miles away from the center of Irma, according to the National Weather Service.

As of Thursday morning, the Category 5 storm was moving northwest away fro Puerto Rico.

Download the Cleveland 19 News app and First Alert Weather app.

Copyright 2017 WOIO. All rights reserved.